birth, Uncategorized

First labour experience: How it went (Part I)

Warning: Lengthy post and contains a hefty number of TMI moments. Read at your own risk.

I’m having fits of giggles remembering one of FRIENDS episode, “The One With The Birthing Video” [S08E15] (for those who do not know, I am a FRIENDS geek and I get cheap thrills reciting lines extracted from the series)(Yes I’m one of those annoying people who memorizes drama lines)(And yes I do memorize every lines from every episodes). Here’s one particular scene that I really love:

Rachel: (about the birthing video) Why is that baby torturing that woman?
Chandler: Why have I seen this thing three times?!
Monica: It’s still beautiful.
Rachel: It’s horrible!
Monica: I know! I know, I’m so sorry for you!
Rachel: Oh, my God!
(Monica and Rachel cover their eyes)
Rachel: What do I do? I don’t want to do this! How do I get out of it?
Chandler: You guys, you guys, look!
Rachel: What? Did her ass explode?!

It’s normal for one to wince when they hear about childbirth. It is normally associated with pain and fear and a combination of these two words innately paint quite an unfavourable picture. It’s immensely hard for a person to react to childbirth without looking like Monica, Rachel and Chandler.

Image result for friends the one with the birthing video

Pic from Google

So when I gave birth to Aidan, I was naturally bombarded with kajillion questions.

So how was it? Was it… painful?

Did you do it naturally? Did you take epidural?

Is it true that on average it takes 12 hours to push out the baby on your first delivery?

Despite the many after-birth questions thrown at me, I must say I am relieved no one asked if my ass exploded at all.

I searched through my memories, trying to relive the moment. I remember seeing my legs mid air, hearing words of encouragements from Nazeef, the beeping sound of the machine and thinking to myself why won’t the hospital come up with more attractive designs of their gowns (seriously, mine was plain blue, not even the nice baby blue-ish shade, more like a dull shade of blue).

I didn’t give the notion of pain much of a thought when I was about to give birth to Aidan – not even throughout the whole ten months of pregnancy. Truthfully, I was more concerned about giving the perfect name to my baby. It’s time! I remember saying to myself, while gripping the bed’s metal bar, feeling the pain subside. Mommy can’t wait to see you my precious petal… look at the clear, blue sky, ready to welcome you to the world!

Mohamad Indah Biru bin Mohamad Nazeef.

… or maybe not. Sounds like Indah Water.

Anyway, when I first found out I was pregnant, I was over the moon. The amount of joy you get from just peeing on a stick is… amusing. I still have the pregnancy stick kept safely in a folder.

Alhamdulillah, I had an easy, smooth-sailing pregnancy for 38 weeks. I didn’t have any morning sickness (only nausea, but did not go through the whole puke fest), didn’t have any food cravings and my skin glowed radiantly throughout without any proper facial care (what I miss most about being pregnant lol).

But I did suffer from intensely horrible backaches (due to my small frame). Being pregnant has taken a toll on my back as I still get backaches until now, especially after standing for a long time.

But Allah is great, I might have a different pregnancy journey for my second one, who knows? It varies, depending on each individual. Everyone will go through different experiences, but that’s what makes it more memorable!

Contractions, a &¥$~*}*{^{ kind of pain

I still remember vividly the beginning of my labour. The night of 13th December 2014, I had been walking up and down the stairs, carrying stuff to help my mom move to the house next door (have heard multiple times that walking and making yourself busy will quicken the process of delivery, but I didn’t give it much a thought).

Around 4 AM, I woke up and went to the toilet to vomit and also had diarrhea (err hope no one’s eating while reading this). I naively assumed that I had food poisoning because I had been facing the same problem a few days prior. So after heaving myself up from the toilet bowl, I felt a twinge of pain in my stomach. It was like period pain, but stronger. The only thing that escaped my mouth was, “Uh -Oh” because I have never felt that pain before. I went back to bed, and tried to ignore it. But it came again, after 30 minutes, stronger than before. It was the kind of pain that could wake you up from a deep slumber – sharp, intense and excruciating.

The contractions have started, I gulped and surreptitiously glanced at Nazeef who was sleeping soundly next to me. I contemplated on letting him know because it was only starting, so there was no point in waking Nazeef up. So I forced myself to sleep again. But of course, I barely got a wink of sleep.

8 AM-8.30 AM

I was already so tired from drifting off and waking up from sleep, trying to bear the pain that gets stronger with every passing minute (which was also getting more frequent), so I decided to tell Nazeef. He was already dressed for work, so he settled his work stuff first before quickly helping me to get ready to go to the hospital.

9 AM-9.45 AM

At the hospital, the nurse at the emergency department wheeled me into the labour room to check if I was already dilated. Felt a jab and a bit of prodding in my youknowwhat area when the nurse looked up at me and said, “Congratulations! You are already 4 cm dilated.”

Not so sure why she sounded like I just won myself tickets to the Caribbean or something though…

I nodded weakly and then changed into my hospital gown. I was allowed to eat, so Nazeef bought one nasi lemak and shared with me because I didn’t have any appetite. I barely touched it, prolly only had three or four bites. The nurse then gave me the poo pill, to spare me the embarrassment of having a poo massacre during labour.

11 AM – 1 PM

After that it was a total blur to me… I remember lying down in a foetal position, cradling both my legs, breathing rapidly to minimize the pain of contractions. I remember calling the nurse to tell her that I was in so much pain and if there’s any way to help make it hurt less (which the nurse looked sympathetically at me and asked if I wanted to take gas to relive some of the pain, but I declined, because I have decided to have a drug-free delivery).

I stayed in that position mostly, dozed on and off, just trying my best to make it through the pain. My contraction was occurring around five to eight minutes apart, and I already lost count of the breaths I was supposed to take (probably like, three million times).

1.30 PM -3 PM

My OBGYN doctor came in (hurrayyy) to check my dilation again and said that I was already 6 cm dilated, so she proceeded to break my waters manually. It was the funniest feeling ever, I swear. I could feel her inserting something inside me (a stick? a rod?) and then it was like I became a human faucet. Water gushed out of my youknowwhat, and it was warm, slippery and somewhat… ticklish.

She then left to see another patient and told me to prepare myself. Prepare myself??? Hello??? Like I have not been doing that all this while??? Before I can ask her anything, I felt a sharp pain in my abdomen and clutched Nazeef’s arm. The contraction was getting stronger than ever, going on for about a minute and starting again before I even had the time to catch my breath. It was a grueling cycle that really squeezed every ounce of energy in me, and I wasn’t even starting to push yet!

The nurse keeps telling me to be patient, and that the delivery will start at 3 PM. Within half an hour after my doctor broke my waters, I was already 8 cm dilated. There was a clock right on the wall facing me, and I remembered urging silently for its hands to move faster.

To be continued…

Standard

Leave a Reply

